跳至主要内容

PCB布局设计

PCB布局设计

印刷电路板 (PCB) 的设计无疑是设计师必须面对的最复杂的操作之一,它既是一门艺术,也是一门科学。 它需要仔细评估板上的可用空间以及电路和组件施加的限制。 创建可靠、功能强大且具有成本效益的 PCB 设计是一项挑战,尤其是在需要创建紧凑、轻巧、有时甚至是灵活的电路板的今天。

印刷电路的设计流程总是从原理图开始,然后是元件的定位、层和走线的定义,最后是 Gerber 文件的生成。 定义迹线的过程(也称为路由)可以以不同的方式执行:手动、自动或交互式(前两种的组合)。

卡应用程序越复杂,手动路由技术就越合适。 Elenos 在多种类型的设计方面经验丰富:

  • RF 板,可能需​​要传输线(微带线、带状线或其他)并且必须严格控制阻抗值以避免功率损耗并保证信号完整性;
  • 电源,安全性和效率至关重要,必须考虑从绝缘到热管理的所有方面。 此外,电源往往受到外壳和散热器施加的物理限制,需要考虑这些限制,因此通常使用手动布线技术。

手动路由是一种提供创造性专业满意度的方法,但它需要时间和耐心。 它包括手动定位连接组件的迹线,定义厚度、宽度、距离和曲率角等技术特征。 设计师当然得到了软件工具的帮助,该软件工具能够报告任何违反布线规则的行为,但设计师的技能和能力是最重要的。

另一方面,全自动路由是完全自主运行的——一旦建立路由规则,系统会自动处理项目,然后可以通过手动进行任何必要的更改或改进来修改结果。 尽管自动布线是一种可以节省时间的技术,但它不一定能提供最好的结果。 与所有自动处理系统一样,自动布线也有其局限性,尽管软件工具取得了进步,但一些人认为它难以配置以获得最佳结果,设计人员可能必须更正自动创建的布线,修复常见错误,例如走线围绕 PCB 的边缘,而不是穿过层。 因此,了解每种技术的应用限制并评估何时比其他技术更可取至关重要。

最后,交互式布线是一种将手动布线的精度和控制与自动布线的典型速度和自动化相结合的技术。

无论使用何种方法,布线都会带来复杂性,这种复杂性会随着板上组件数量的增加而增加,并且在存在高频信号或组件必须散发大量热量的应用中仍然尤为重要。

在广播发射机领域,导致我们的设计人员更喜欢手动布线技术的 PCB 特性是:

  • 减少长度的痕迹:如果要连接的引脚之间的距离非常小,手动布线是产生最可靠和准确结果的技术; 除了令人满意之外,它几乎可以机械地执行;
  • 走线的角度:应避免 90° 角,因为在制造过程中,蚀刻过程可能会产生危险的短路; 锐角也应避免。 手动工作,设计人员可以通过应用适当的曲率来模拟轨迹;
  • 高度复杂的电路:元件密度和大量互连需要特别注意。 在这些情况下,经验丰富的设计人员通常可以创建出优于自动工具的设计。

Elenos 的 PCB 布局设计师拥有:

  • 非常注重细节:当工作涉及以最小的调整变化寻找解决方案时,或者在使用微观材料时,必须注意细节;
  • 不断更新的能力:在技术等不断发展的领域,随着新的、更高效、更智能的软件的出现,不更新意味着有被甩在后面的风险;
  • 学习新的设计技术的能力:也许这看起来很明显,但经过多年的工作很容易养成习惯,总是依赖于同样久经考验的布局技术。 但这会鼓励重复错误,或者导致新错误,因为布局变得更加复杂;
  • 长期工作的能力:经验是关键,必须抵制时间压力以确保质量始终如一。
  • 解决问题和调解技巧:PCB设计过程涉及许多合作伙伴,并且PCB设计通常最终成为工程和制造之间的拉锯战,而设计人员需要找到双方都满意的解决方案。

en English
X
回到顶部

skip to Main Content

PCB Layout Design

PCB Layout Design

The design of a printed circuit board (PCB), is certainly one of the most complex operations that the designer has to face, being both an art and a science. It requires a careful assessment of the space available on the board and the constraints imposed by the circuit and components. Creating a reliable, functional and cost effective PCB designs is a challenge, especially today when the need is to create compact, light and sometimes even flexible boards.

The design flow of a printed circuit always starts from the schematic, followed by the positioning of the components, the definition of the layers and the traces, and ends with the generation of Gerber files. The process of defining the traces, also known as routing, can be performed in different ways: manual, automatic, or interactive (a combination of the previous two).

The more complex the card applications are, the more appropriate the manual routing technique is. Elenos is experienced in several types of designs:

  • RF boards, which may require transmission lines (microstrip, stripline, or others) and where the impedance value must be strictly controlled in order to avoid power losses and guarantee signal integrity;
  • Power Supplies, where safety and efficiency are critical and everything from insulation to thermal management must be considered. Additionally, power supplies tend to have physical constraints imposed by the enclosure and heatsinks which need to be considered so the manual routing technique is typically used.

Manual routing is the one that offers creative professional satisfaction, but it requires time and patience. It consists in manually positioning the traces that connect the components, defining technical characteristics such as thickness, width, distance and angle of curvature. The designer is certainly aided by the software tool, which is capable of reporting any violations of the routing rules, but the designer’s skill and competence is paramount.

Fully automatic routing, on the other hand, operates completely autonomously – once the routing rules are established, the project is automatically processed by the systemand the result can then be revised by manually making any necessary changes or improvements. Although autorouting is a technique that can save the time, it is not necessarily the one provides the best results. Like all automated processing systems, autorouting has its limitations and, despite the advances in the software tools, it is regarded by some as difficult to configure for optimal results, and the designer may have to correct the automatically created routing, fixing common errors such as traces going around the edges of the PCB, rather than traversing the layers. It is therefore essential to know the limits of application of each technique and to evaluate when one is preferable over the others.

Finally, interactive routing is a technique that combines the precision and control of manual routing with the speed and automation typical of autorouting.

Regardless of the methodology used, routing presents a complexity that increases with the number of components present on the board and remains particularly critical in applications where there are high frequency signals or there are components which must dissipate significant heat.

In the broadcast transmitter field, the PCB characteristics that lead our designers to prefer the manual routing technique are:

  • Traces of reduced length: if the distance between the pins to be connected is very small, manual routing is the technique that produces the most reliable and accurate results; in addition to being satisfying, it can be performed almost mechanically;
  • The angle of the traces: 90° angles should be avoided as, during manufacturing, the etching process could create dangerous short circuits; sharp angles should also be avoided. Working manually, the designer can model the trace by applying the appropriate degree of curvature;
  • Highly complex circuits: where the density of components and numerous interconnections require special attention. In these cases, the experienced designer can can often create a superior design versus an automatic tool.

PCB Layout Designers at Elenos have:

  • Great attention to detail: when the job involves finding solutions with minimal adjustment changes, or when working with microscopic materials, it is essential to have an eye for detail;
  • Ability to constantly update: in a constantly evolving sector such as technology, and with the appearance of new and more efficient and intelligent software, not updating means risking being left behind;
  • Ability to learn new design techniques: perhaps it seems obvious, but after years of work it is easy to become habitual, always falling back on the same tried and tested layout techniques. But this can encourage repeated mistakes, or lead to new ones, as layouts become more complex;
  • Ability to work for long periods of time: Experience is key, the pressures of timelines must be resisted to assure consistant quality.
  • Problem solving and mediation skills: The PCB design process involves many partners, and often, PCB design ends up being a tug-of-war between engineering and manufacturing, and it is up to the designer to find a solution that satisfies both sides.

en English
X
Back To Top